ellieotter

Hey guys, I have waited to email POI's to see if they are accepting students till this month since they're more likely to know about funding. Some of my POI's have indicated on their website if they are accepting a student but I have decided it's time to bunker down and get to writing out good email drafts to send out to all my POI's in the next week.

Does anyone have any tips on what I should include in my "reaching out" email? I don't want to send a novel but I want to get across how interested I am in working with them. Secondary note, does anyone have any tips on what I shouldn't include when writing them out? Thanks!

In my opinion it's best to keep things short and to the point.  The general format is something like this:

Hi [insert professor's name],

My name is [so and so] and I'm a prospective graduate student planing on applying to your program.  I have done research on [blah blah] using [this and that method, technique, analyses, etc.].  I became aware of your work and have found that it relates to my research interests for [this and that reason]; given how well your research lines fit with my interests, I am very interested in the possibility of working with you.  Are you considering accepting students this upcoming academic year?

Thank you for your time,

[Your name]

Obviously you can tweak it to make it sound better and more professional, but I would keep to about that length for the initial contact email.  Once you receive a reply you can follow up with more information or specific questions.

Edited by St0chastic

Yes, short and sweet is best. I'd also include a CV. It's best to have also read one of the professor's articles.

I don't know that I'd send something like the above example. Some of the wording is a bit reversed: how well your research fits with my interests, etc. You want to show them that YOUR interests fit with THEIR research ;)

1 hour ago, t_ruth said: