Should I tell my advisor I’m depressed

FirstYearHistory17

Not sure if this is the best place to ask this question but I really need some advice. I’m a first year history PhD student. I’m an older student, 37, and have a long and complicated history with anxiety and depression. I did a very stupid thing a few months ago. After moving to a new state and being unable to find a new psychiatrist, when I ran out of refills of an antidepressant I simply stopped taking them. Having been on medication for several years and having been through major depression episodes, I should have known better. Over the last couple of months my depression and anxiety have come back full force and though I’m keeping up with schoolwork, my personal research project has fallen behind somewhat. I am back in medication and am realizing that I have to take better care of myself (I’ve been running full speed, head first into a brick wall the way I’ve been managing work, and it’s nothjng short of destructive). My problem is I know it will take several weeks to feel like myself again, to get my motivation back, to be at my top level of performance. I want to keep h personal life out of my professional life, but do you think it makes sense to have a candid discussion with my advisor about my situation so I can have a bit more time to get my research project together? 

A note: please, do not comment if you are going to be negative. I have posted on this forum before under a fairly recognizable screen name and have been hit with some pretty negative comments. Please do not post if you think I’m just trying to make excuses for being lazy, or that I can’t cut it in grad school, or that I shouldn’t whine to my advisor about my problems. Depression and anxiety are real and all too often not openly addressed among graduate students. I’m trying to get advise from my peers about managing my condition, so if you don’t have something constructive to say please move along.