My IR Grad school horror story

I've been following this board for quite some time, and although I have seen a couple of threads from people basically telling prospective IR grad students to stay away from these programs, I thought I'd outline my own experience to show you just how perilous going down this road can be.

I few years ago, I graduated from a top private university in New England and gained acceptance to one of the Top 3 IR programs in the country that people on this board salivate over. I went in with what traditionally is thought of as the right pedigree for entrance and future success in the foreign policy field. I had a flawless gpa, had tons of overseas experience working and volunteering with prestigious agencies and was a polyglot. I studied for a semester overseas in which I gained a certificate and made even more connections. I was only able to obtain a modicum of funding, but was happy I got in to my what was at the time dream school. I cheerfully racked up over 120K in debt to attend as I thought with my experience and the degree I'd be a shoe-in for top jobs with the government or private sector.

Here I am two years later with no job and colossal debt, writing to you from an internet cafe in Argentina where I am currently hiding out from creditors in the states so I don't have to pay my debt. There's a lot of us on the run from our school debts in South America. They call us "debt dodgers". All my loans were private, so I'm relatively safe from debt collectors. I've made a living for myself down here teaching English and "Historia Norteamericana" to private school twits for a pittance. I've also managed to do some free-lance consulting with some banks as well. Someone I know at an NGO has promised me once the Maduro government is toppled in Venezuela, I can go to Caracas to maybe get a fulltime gig.