Is it appropriate to give digital gift cards as a token of thanks for recommendation writers?

AB121212

Question

I have three professors who wrote letters of recommendation for me (both for initial acceptance and for funding). Important info here is that I graduated in 2016 and have since moved away from the city of my undergrad institution, but will most likely be moving back and going there for grad school. The first, Dr. A, I was very close to during my undergrad. She was both my adviser and the professor for two of my classes. She is still working there. The second and third, Dr. B and Dr. C, I had for two classes each but only occasionally talked to them in office hours and such -- not nearly as close with them, PLUS they have both since moved to different universities on the other side of the country. 

SO my questions are, A. is it appropriate to give them gifts to thank them for writing very strong letters for me, B. especially since I cannot physically give B and C a gift, would it be appropriate to send them digital Amazon gift cards, and C. if so, how much is an appropriate amount?

8 answers to this question

4 hours ago, AB121212 said:

SO my questions are, A. is it appropriate to give them gifts to thank them for writing very strong letters for me, B. especially since I cannot physically give B and C a gift, would it be appropriate to send them digital Amazon gift cards, and C. if so, how much is an appropriate amount?