Stipend enough for NYC?

Imenol

Hello,

I have been offered a place at Columbia for the following year. However, as an international student, I am not really sure how affordable it is to live in NYC on a PhD stipend. These are the conditions of my offer:

* A stipend of $29,350 during the academic year for up to five years.
* A summer stipend of $3,772 for five years, to be disbursed after the first year of enrollment.
* The Gold-level insurance premium for the Columbia Student Medical Insurance Plan, as well as half of the Gold-level insurance premium for any eligible dependent

Do you think this would be enough to live in NYC without getting into debt? Thanks for the help

Subtract roughly 10-15% for taxes (New York State is the highest taxed state in the country), which gives you around $25K.  Then divide that by 12 months (save your "summer" stipend for research purposes or rainy-day savings) and that's around $2079/month.  If you go with Columbia housing with around $1000, then you have $1000 to spend on food, transportation, etc.  Just know that if you choose not to live in Columbia's housing, you will want to get a monthly pass for the subway ($117/month) but don't lose it (there is no way to replace it if lost or stolen).  When I lived in NYC, I had trouble keeping my grocery bills under $200/month.

Since you are an international student, it may be tough to finance your travels home alone unless you budget very carefully.

Err on the conservative side in your first year until you figure out how you can make your budget compatible with NYC :) You'll thank yourself later.