emmazeee

Question

Hi, everyone!

I am currently a third year undergraduate student majoring in neuroscience who plans on going to graduate school and getting my PhD when I finish my undergraduate education.  I have been looking at schools and different programs, but am having trouble picking which ones would be best for me.  

I know that I like research, but part of my problem is that my research interests are very broad.  I believe that I am most interested in differences in behavior and the biological reasons/mechanisms behind these behaviors.  I have mostly considered getting my PhD in either neuroscience or in psychology, but have more recently been considering that this may fit a biology PhD, too.  What type of program do you think I would find the most relevant labs focused on this?  Or does anyone have any advice that would help me to make the distinction between what type of program would be a good fit for me?

Thank you!

3 answers to this question

I'm not in the field but I will say you don't have to apply to one type of program. I applied to 3 different majors in graduate school, and picked the major at the school based on the research being done in that department that best matched my interested.

I would suggest looking into behavioral neuroscience programs and seeing if the research is a good match. Another way to explore your research interests would be to look for summer programs or consider taking a "gap year" to do a post-baccalaureate program. Certain programs have you do lab rotations for some time and then based on research fit, you would be placed into a certain lab. Feel free to PM me if you want to discuss anything further.