Geography 2019 Application thread

ponlear

I noticed that no one has started a discussion for 2019 application.

Best of Luck everyone- let's know where you plan to apply to, research interests and degree type (MA, MS, PHD), GRE scores, application progress etc

Research Interests: GIS, remote sensing,  landuse change, natural resource management

Proposed Schools:
University of Kentucky
University of North Carolina
University of Alabama
Pent State
University of Colorado (Boulder)

Academic Profile:
GPA  3.3/4.0
GRE: Yet to take
TOEFL: Yet to take (I am international student)

Good luck to everyone.

Edited by ponlear
Thread written as threas

• 4 weeks later...

Hi, 

I'm interested in applying for a PhD in Fall 2019. Choosing schools in the US is particularly hard because I am conflicted between Sociology and Geography programs. I hold a Masters in Development Studies from a premier institute in India and have close to 2 years of work experience in the public policy &  academic research sectors. 

My expectations are as follows: 

1. Emphasis on qualitative research/ room for qual research

2. My specific interest is in urban studies, so would prefer a research cluster on cities/urban spaces. 

Interests: Urban studies - Qualitative Transportation, Identities, Spatiality, Heritage ; Comparative Research;  International Development; South Asia; Public Policy

Expectations from Programmes

Program: Interdisciplinary, Allowing students to choose courses across departments, emphasis/known for applied approach

Resources: Ongoing projects with vibrant research space, Access to funding, Encouraging collaborations, Good enough brand to ensure employment on completion of programme, preferably located in an urban area to aid fieldwork. 

Look forward to suggestions from you guys about which department might be a better fit and potential school options too! 

• 2 weeks later...