Neuroscience/Molecular Biology Admission Stats

bozwell15

Hi all,

This is my first post on here as I am just getting acclimated to the application process. I was wondering for those who have applied and gotten accepted to either neuroscience or molecular biology PhD programs, what was your gpa, gre scores, and other stats when accepted? I feel I am more behind then other recent applicants when I talk to them so I wanted to know my admission chances based off of my stats. 

I have an associates in engineering science from SUNY Broome with a 2.7 gpa, I will be graduating this coming year with with a bachelors of science in biological sciences with a minor in statistics from the University at Buffalo. Currently my GPA at UB is a 3.15 but I have another semester before I submit my apps so there is room to improve. I have almost 3 years of combined research experience in the two molecular biology labs I've worked in, a conference presentation based off of research, and I have been a TA for the advanced molecular biology class at UB for almost a year. 

The PhD programs I plan on applying to so far are:

• UB - Biological Scences,
  • UB - PPBS
  • Stony Brook - Genetics
  • Washington U - Neuroscience
  • UMich - Neuroscience   

And a few other similar programs... would anyone be able to help me with what my admission chances would be? Thank you! 

If you want to improve your odds of admission, you might consider taking a year or 2 after you finish your degree to get more research experience, publications, presentations, etc.

Really you should post in/browse the "2019 Applicant Profiles and Admissions Results" thread in the biology list. It also gives you a guide for what information we might need to help answer your question.

Try filling it out in the below format- helps to better assess your application!

Undergrad Institution: (School or type of school, such as big state, lib arts, ivy, technical, foreign (what country?)... Overall Reputation in Biology?)