Only just started MA program and severely depressed

lesleyrachel2

Hi,
I know there are a lot of threads here about people dealing with depression/anxiety/imposter syndrome during their MA programs, but I have only gone to a few classes and I am already unmotivated, depressed and having two panic attacks every day. I have a history of depression/anxiety and have taken medication for it for years, but this feels "different." I have been dreading starting the program for the last two months and have been incredibly depressed--questioning what I am doing/why I am doing this.

To provide more context: I am a very introverted person who has social anxiety and who is willing to do literally anything to avoid speaking in front of people. I knew that I would have to present my research at some point, but for the three classes I am taking, it seems like I am required to present/speak weekly. It is not so much the work that I am fearful of, but the fact that I will be engaging with a room full of people constantly, attempting to perform in a way that I feel entirely uncomfortable doing. When I am forced to speak, I stumble over my words and completely blank. My poor communication skills will, I am sure, also bring down my grades in classes that I would otherwise be doing alright in (if there was not this social component). Although I knew that this environment wouldn't feel natural for me, the way that the program is structured goes against everything that I feel and know.