How to be an amazing candidate?

Hi everyone!

So, I am currently an undergrad in NJ at Rutgers, who notoriously does not have a CSD major. I am a psych major and have a minor in linguistics. My current GPA is 3.866 and I have a 4.00 GPA in my CSD coursework. My experience so far includes: 1 yr research for a school psychologist; research involved creating a virtual simulation program for early career teachers in urban areas and required me to observe classrooms, 6 hours of shadowing at an early intervention and hospital setting (going to get the full 25 before applying), volunteering at the Adler Aphasia Center & a rehabilitation center and a fieldwork course with children with autism. I have yet to take the GRE but am aiming for about a 152, 152 & a 4. Currently also have 1 LOR but will get rest from 2 more from CSD professors. I wanted to know if you all found me to be competitive and had any advice on how to make myself a better applicant since I am an out of field applicant. Any comments/tips will help!

Make sure your shadowing includes school SLP, if possible. Don’t just shadow children with autism. I have several spectrum students on my caseload, but I also have 9 students of various ages who have Down’s syndrome. (My Down’s students are awesome but laaaawd working on articulation is challenging at times. It will never be perfect, but I will take highly intelligible to unfamiliar communication partners- I can only do so much and I’m battling with structural issues) One student has a rare genetic deletion disorder (we just want him to communicate), 3 fluency cases, 2 lateral lisp cases. I’m a school based SLP-A and just accepted to graduate school. Make sure you have a lot of experience shadowing SLPs who have a variety of disorders, etc. 

Edited by MH13
Clarify

16 hours ago, sliz1019 said:

Hi everyone!