This is sort of a long story so thanks in advance to anyone willing to read/help.

I graduated from PSU in 2015 with a BS in Communication Sciences & disorders, decided to take a break and work before applying for my Masters. Unfortunately, my mom was unexpectedly diagnosed with stage iv cancer and I ended up having to quit my job to be a full-time caregiver. She has since passed away and it's time for me to get moving again but at this point, I don't really know where to start.

I feel like getting a letter of recommendation from a professor I had 3 years ago (at such a large school) is going to pretty much be useless, despite how well I did in their classes.

My GRE scores are average so I'm considering re-taking.

I'm extremely hesitant to apply without feeling competitive but I guess I'm unsure of even where to start to give myself a fighting chance.
As of now, I've started reaching out for either shadowing or SLP Aide opportunities just to get my foot in the door with something related.

What would you do?

Okay, first of all, I am sorry for you loss! That's absolutely terrible for you to go through.