Lack of Statistics Classes/Research

I am an undergraduate majoring in pure mathematics, and am considering applying to graduate school in statistics. The thing is that I have not done any coursework or research in statistics. I have only taken graduate statistical theory class and my research was focused primarily on probability theory and random processes. How is this situation going to be viewed by the admissions committee?

3 minutes ago, undergrad1 said:

I am an undergraduate majoring in pure mathematics, and am considering applying to graduate school in statistics. The thing is that I have not done any coursework or research in statistics. I have only taken graduate statistical theory class and my research was focused primarily on probability theory and random processes. How is this situation going to be viewed by the admissions committee?

If you are equally qualified as another similar applicant, the applicant with more statistics courses will be considered more favorably than you. There are plenty of statistics courses online. Is there any way you can strengthen your application?

I'm just another student, so be cautious taking my advice, but I think you're probably fine --more often the issue with stat applicants is that they haven't taken Real Analysis, so your pure math background is more of a positive if anything.  Maybe biostat programs would care a little more, but probably not a lot.  Most applicants haven't done theoretical research, either, so your research might be a positive, although its hard to say from so little information.

Edited by Geococcyx
Projecting my own real analysis-taking proclivities onto others

On 3/22/2019 at 9:58 PM, Noegenesis said:

If you are equally qualified as another similar applicant, the applicant with more statistics courses will be considered more favorably than you. There are plenty of statistics courses online. Is there any way you can strengthen your application?