Tips for dealing with having been your advisor’s second choice?

Hi everyone! I’m currently in my first year of a PhD program and - since it’s THAT time of the semester - the impostor syndrome is kicking in. I know it’s a totally normal thing to experience, but I feel like everyone always offers the same advice for managing it (“Remember that you deserve to be here!” or “You wouldn’t be here if you weren’t qualified!” etc.). That advice is great and sometimes it helps, but I was admitted from the waitlist as my advisor’s second choice and my particular brand of impostor syndrome usually ends with me getting hung up on that. I know I’m more than capable of hacking my program and its expectations and I’m confident in myself and my abilities, but I find myself getting preoccupied with that whenever I’m having a rough week or having tough conversations with my advisor. It’s hard for me to NOT wonder if they wish they’d been able to get their first choice student instead. Any advice for how to manage that/get over being accepted off the waitlist?

On 11/2/2019 at 10:45 AM, SugarAndPsych said: