Wait another cycle or start now? [Clinical Psychology]

hrj_BA

Hello everyone!

I am a psychology BA graduate (class of 2019) from a mid-level UC thinking about applying to PhD programs. That being said, last cycle I applied to terminal MA programs and only got an interview and acceptance into one, which makes me feel like I should wait until I have substantially more research experience. I want to research the evolutionary adaptivity of psychopathy, and its relationship to cognitive deficits & heuristics/biases. Maybe throw in some functional brain imaging in there too.

GPA: ~3.4/ 3.6 psych GPA
GRE: 163 V, 155 Q, 4.5 AW

Here is a very general rundown of my research experience:
- 1 year as a full time paid RA. This sounds good on paper, but I haven't gained any new skills besides administering standardized assessments, which really doesn't seem all that important and I feel as though it makes me no more competitive that I was last time around.
- capstone research project (graduation requirement). Learned data analysis software and obtained significant results
- 6 months as an undergrad RA in a spatial navigation/attention lab. Learned how to EEG cap/apply electrodes, some experience with analysis of change of rate of physiological measures.
- 3 months as an undergrad RA in a molecular biology lab, learned biotechnology and DNA sequencing skills

Wondering if anyone has some input. Any and everything is appreciated (: 

Hi there! It looks to me like you have a decent GPA and strong GRE scores. You're on the right track with the research experience you have thus far!