Wake Forest Funded MA or UChicago MAPSS?

SheilaCoo

Hi!

I am an international student holding a non-US undergraduate degree in psychology (a first-rank research school in Europe but maybe placements overseas and developments/pubs in Ph.D processes are not comparable to the states).

I applied to some MA programs and just got a funded offer from Wake Forest for two years (75% tuition waiver so about 10,000 dollars tuition per year, potential full waiver & assistantship stipend in future).

I also have a offer from UChicago MAPSS, but with merely 1/3 tuition waiver and may result in 50,000 dollars debt...

I'm generally interested in ( clinical) developmental psychology though I have some background in quant psych.

I do know a lot of alumni from MAPSS but I'm really not sure about Wake Forest's reputation.

I'm kind of detached from MAPSS as they seemingly do not care their MA students and indeed it implies more stress in money and time. Their placements are good though.

In this case, can anyone give me some suggestions? Especially in PhD placements & pubs.

Many thanks!!!

I'm not sure if I should try more American schools in the next cycle, like Columbia or Cornell or UIUC as they all have fine developmental programs. Not sure about their funding either.

I was just not that sure about my research interest when I applied...?

Between those 2, go with Wake Forest hands down. They have a good track record of getting students into fully funded PhDs. The main thing I've ever heard about MAPSS is that it's a big cash cow that brings tons of money to the department. A psychology MA is not worth the cost of that tuition. 

Thank you!  I agree.  But Wake Forest does not post its placements online.  Of course, I can just ask them, but how do you know their past records (and know that they are better than MAPSS)?  Thanks!