Minority status: International, female, Asian

Relevant work experience and achievements:
(1) Graduate intern at Stanford University (cancer bioinformatics) - ongoing

(2) Founder of a digital health startup

(3) Involvement in wet-bench cancer research for ~3 years

(4) One manuscript, one review, one poster

(5) Oncology research consultant

Programs of interest (in descending order):

1. Stanford Biosciences (Biomedical Informatics, Genetics, Cancer Biology)
  2. Harvard HILS (BIG)
  3. Harvard-MIT HST MEMP
  4. UC Berkeley (BCB)
  5. MIT CSB
  6. Tri-I CBM (backup plan)

Questions:
(1) Are any of the programs/schools "off-limits" for international students?

(2) Should I cast my net wider? Is my profile competitive enough for the aforementioned programs?

Edited by melch

• 3 weeks later...

Hi! I am a PhD student in bioinformatics in one of the top 20 schools in the States. 
I am an Asian male with a biomedical background, no permanent residence, not LGBT, with no governmental funding from my home country.
I applied only to the top half of Ivy (including on-par schools like Stanford and UCSF) for the first round and failed, and got an offer from an okay school in my second round.

Short answers to your question:
1. Yes, nearly all of them are hard for internationals.
2. Yes for the first one; no for the second question.

Some of your disadvantages of your CV include:

1. Not in the domestic pool: 
Unfortunately, it is extremely hard for internationals to get a PhD in bioinformatics in the States, since most of bioinformatics programs receive training grants not available for internationals without permanent residence.

The first thing that I would say is try not apply to the bioinformatics programs that receive NIH/NLM training grants:
https://www.nigms.nih.gov/training/instpredoc/pages/PredocInst-Bioinformatics.aspx
U Arizona, UCSD, UCSF, Georgia Tech, JHU, BU, MIT,  Duke, UNC, Brown
Harvard BIG usually does not take many internationals as well.