Women's Studies 2011

Lilith

• 2 weeks later...

I am :) Actually, I'm already done with all my applications. Since I'm an international student my deadlines mostly hovered around Dec 1st.

Where are you going to apply for grad school? What are your research interests?

I applied to: Bloomington, UMD, Ohio State, University of Minnesota, University of Arizona, Emory, Rutgers. I also applied to some programs which had concentrations in WGST,

such as Georgia State (Sociology), UC Davis (Cultural Studies), and Yale (Sociology) -- I only applied to Yale though because one of my recommenders knows someone of the

grad school committee there rolleyes.gif

My research interests involve: Queer Theory, LGBTQ Studies, Cultural Studies, Poststructuralism, Social Constructivism etc.

• 1 month later...

Hey everyone, I'm applying to Women's Studies programs and so far no good news yet. I heard back from Feminist Studies at Minnesota-- Rejected. It seems that they chose their candidates very early on, so if you haven't heard yet from there it's likely not good news.

Has anyone applying to Emory been invited to interview? I've been checking the GradCafe results page for any information but so far no one has posted about Women's Studies interviews... but this is around the the time they usually give them out.

Congrats, Lilith! I really like the faculty there-- lots of amazing feminist scholars at UMN in the humanities. What are your research interests?

It's early, but not that early. A lot of Women's Studies depts. are pretty small, and they usually let people who get in know sooner rather than later. I'm just hoping for one offer... somewhere, anywhere! Rutgers lets people know in late Feb., from what I've heard in the past.