Older grad students

I'm an older grad school candidate (just turned 41 this past December) looking to start an English/Lit M.A. program in the fall, assuming I get accepted and get funding (big assumptions). I don't know anyone else who has gone back to grad school at this age for a humanities degree, so I'm just curious if there are any other older, "non-traditional" students out there who could share their experience once they got into a program.

I didn't finish up my undergrad degree until recently, so going back won't be the shock it might have if there had been a 20-year lapse. But I do wonder how well I'll fit into a program, whether I'll feel out of place. The nice thing about literature is that it's timeless, so I don't think I'll feel like a dinosaur, exactly. But what's the typical mix in a small (< 100 students) English M.A. program? I assume that the majority of English grad students enter a program soon after college, but maybe there's more variety than I would expect. Not that I mind being in a classroom with a group of younger students... I just know that my own goals and background will likely be very different from theirs. Which could (should) be a very good thing. Variety is good.

So this is just an open question in case anyone out there has something to offer. No matter what I'm looking forward to going back...

I think you're right that the majority of students will be in their 20s, but there are typically more than a few students in their 30s and older. This, at any rate, was true of the students where I got my MA. I can also report, though my experience may not be representative, that the older and younger students mixed well and there was very little age-related awkwardness that I could tell. By the way, hope Arlington is treating you well. I'm a native (grew up not too far from the intersection of Lee and Glebe and worked at Cherrydale Hardware all through high school). Good times.