MSW Canadian Applications Fall 2024

jmcinn97

Hey y'all! I wanted to create this forum for anyone applying to Canadian MSW programs for fall 2024. I applied to Carleton and the part time non BSW online MSW program at Laurier for fall 2023. Got rejected from Laurier and waitlisted at Carleton. I'll be reapplying to Carleton and applying to Dalhousie and UBC-Okanagan this time around. What about you all?

Edited by jmcinn97

• jmcinn97 changed the title to MSW Canadian Applications Fall 2024

Hey jmcinn97, thank you SO much for starting this thread! Every year this forum is such a valuable resource for anyone applying to their MSW. I'm a Canadian MSW grad - and these forums were a valuable resource even years ago when I applied back in 2017.  

I thought it would be helpful to share some resources early on in this forum. Here is a guide to applying to MSW programs in Canada - it's a solid starting place when looking at MSW programs. There is also a MSW Application Facebook group which has a few hundred people, many of whom have already been through the process of applying to grad school and give great advice about their experiences. 

I know how stressful it can be to apply to competitive programs. I strongly believe that it's possible to get accepted to the MSW Program EVEN if you don't have the best grades or the most experience. MSW Programs are holistic, and they recognize that social workers come from various backgrounds which can impact their grades and experiences. Because of that, they ask for a personal statement where applicants can account for their nuanced experiences, and show admissions committees why they would be a valuable asset to the program despite any areas of weakness in their application. 

I know how anxiety provoking the application process is, so every year I try to be a resource to everyone here. You'll see me pop in and answer questions, and you are also welcome to send me a DM or tag me any time. :)