While waiting...hoping not to get in?

nhyn

Maybe it's just because the waiting process is too long, I have been having...um, thoughts. It's a mix of the usual self-doubts and some personal stuff. I was just wondering...Is anyone thinking it might be a good thing not to get in this year? Why? Also, if you have to choose between your marriage/engagement and grad school, which one will you compromise on?

For me, maybe not getting in this year is a good thing, because:

- If I could, I wouldn't have applied this year. I was really hoping to work for at least 2 years, but as an international student, my visa only allows one year of work in the US. My work as an RA now is very useful, and if only I could work for another year, I believe I could be an even better candidate. My significant other and I are planning to get married later this year, and once I become a permanent resident, I can work some more and gain more experience.