What about the reputation of UC Berkeley?

hiscoba

Hi,

I am an international student, will attend UC Berkeley's Computer Science program for my PhD study. I wonder what about the reputation of Berkeley in the United States when comparing to Ivy Leagues or MIT/Stanford? I know that Berkeley has a strong Grad school, but it indeed ranks low in the USNews National University Ranking. Does Berkeley grads find job easily in U.S.?

Thanks a lot!

but it indeed ranks low in the USNews National University Ranking.

Whattt!! I will not believe any ranking that puts Berkeley "low" for CS. What's low for you? below 1? You are about to enter one of the best grad school for computer science in the whole wide world!!

I dont think you'll have any problem finding a job with a PhD from Berky. Fantastic publications wont hurt though.

congrats on the acceptance :)

Edited by shashakoe

Whattt!! I will not believe any ranking that puts Berkeley "low" for CS. What's low for you? below 1? You are about to enter one of the best grad school for computer science in the whole wide world!!

I dont think you'll have any problem finding a job with a PhD from Berky. Fantastic publications wont hurt though.

congrats on the acceptance :)

Thanks. :) :-)

I DO know that Berkeley's CS program is among the best, that's why I apply to it!! What I concern about is its overall reputation. Anyway, I do not expect my future employer will look carefully at the graduate school program ranking, or understand what I really did during the PhD program. If they prefer big names, will other more prestigious school, like Princeton, be a better choice?

Edited by hiscoba

Thanks. :) :-)