Buying new laptop

saspur

I have been using my Lenovo Thinkpad X61 for 5 years (haven't done any repairment during the 5 years). Recently my battery is giving me a problem, it suddenly dropped from 64% electricity to 4% electricity.

In another occasion when I was attempting to recharge the battery. It stopped at 39% for a long time, then it suddenly skyrocketed to 100% after 10-20 minutes.

I am a first year PhD student, so either I would like my computer to be fully repaired or buy a new one.

What are the good laptops to consider in United States? PC or apple?

I have been using PC all the time but I know PC gets a lot of computer virus

I've heard machintosh laptops are really good, but a lot of softwares can't be installed on Mac. Besides, macbooks are pretty expensive.

What's your choice?

Thanks.

Plz don't delete this topic.

Yeah, a new battery and/or power cord might do the trick, though if you're getting a new computer, I've really liked my Lenovo Ideapad Y 450 so far. It's about 1.5 years old only, so I have no idea how long it will last. Glad to hear your Thinkpad has lasted so long though! I don't like Apple products, but that's more of an ideological rejection of supporting Steve Jobs, so I can't really speak to the quality of the product. A lot of people seem to like them, but they are really expensive. Sony Vaio seems pretty cool as well, and if you're into gaming at all, Alienware products seem to be the bomb.

I bought a new battery for my laptop after around the 3 year mark, but will probably get a new laptop soon. I am considering a Mac for the quality and stability (supposedly), but am hesitant because I run a lot of PC simulation programs that are not available for Mac.