I've been MIA... now what? crisis management

HELP!!!

ANY advice (constructive, positive) would be TREMENDOUSLY appreciated.

Is there ANY WAY to handle this gracefully?

I've been MIA from my department-- and am worried they'll get rid of me once they realize i'm still around! I can't move forward without re-appearing-- but when i do, i'll have to

1) hand in delinquent work (Incompletes)-- that will be the first they hear from me; and

2) get advisor approval for my dissertation prospectus.

No way around these.

i know i've been stupid about all of this. ..

I'm in my 3rd year (really 4th, but I've been on leave) in a polisci phd program.

things started well.

-advisor liked me.

-did research for big shots on the side.

-original research was well received.

then lots of drama on my end in the background.

-people died around me.

-one still on the way out.

-lots of crap to deal with.

-owe people work (4 incompletes).

Here's this nearly-complete list of issues:

0. For almost all of the time that I've been in my phd program, I've ALWAYS TA'd outside the department-- so i was very out-of-sight, out-of-mind to begin with in the already large-ish department.

1. I went on leave for 3 of the last 4 quarters (2010-11) and did the same the year prior, too (2009-2010)-- so I've been on campus for two quarters out of the last 8. I'm worried someone will figure this out and get rid of me for not making progress. there are some rules about advancing to candidacy by the nth quarter-- which i've exceeded, possibly. I haven't gone anywhere fast.

****2. i have a bunch of incompletes that I still need to submit for grades. i can do that, but am worried about *suddenly** reminding people i exist with a bunch of paperwork demonstrating that i've been delinquent. i'm worried that if they remember that i exist **like this**, they'll get rid of me.

****3. i haven't had any contact with my advisor for... wow... about a year and a half.