Getting a BA and PhD from the same university?

newpsyche

Hi, friends!

Would it be a bad thing to get my PhD in Social Psychology from the same university from which I got my Bachelor's? It's a great university in rankings, but again--it would be the same one. What are your thoughts?

"Academic Inbreeding" is kind of frowned upon but it's not all that uncommon. I would still apply to other places and see if you like some other schools better. Then, after you consider all your options, you can see if the school you did your BA at is really the one you want to go to.

there is definitely a negative stigma against it, but if you can show why that school is the best fit for you, then its not impossible. I would be interested in what kind of data people have on how less likely you are to get accepted if you went the same undergrad.

These are the underlying concerns it raises. Not saying they're true in your case, but this is what people might think, in roughly descending order of importance/likelihood:

1. Academic cultures vary wildly by department. Because you've only been in one department you might not be able to flourish elsewhere.

2. You couldn't get in anywhere else so you were stuck.

3. You are too attached to family (or something) in your home city and aren't dedicated enough to your career to move wherever it takes you.

What is the university? If it is a school like Harvard, University of Illinois-UC, Stanford, Penn, Northwestern, Cornell, etc., my guess is that those programs are competitive and well-respected enough to assuage any concerns. If it is a lower-tier, regional school, perhaps the K-Ph.D track will hurt you. Also, if you are still in undergrad, try to secure a summer internship at another program in which you are interested. This may be a good way to indicate that you are not opposed to variety and a decent chance at securing a LOR from a different PI with a different methodology.