First semester discouragement

kelkyann

I just started my first semester of my Masters and honestly I'm feeling incredibly discouraged. It's my first time teaching and I feel like I'm drowning -- I have no idea what I'm doing, every step I take seems to be a very public mistake (my students witness every mishap) that I need to correct and "learn from." My classes are okay but the workload just seems nonstop. Plus I'm 2000 miles away from home and in a long-distance relationship, so every moment of stress or sadness seems amplified by the fact that, as childish as it may sound, I can't just go hug my mom. And I've had trouble making friends because I think I've just been slow to find somebody I click with...and I have this fear that I never will.

Yes, I'm young -- I just got my Bachelors last year and went immediately into grad school. I "know" that first semester grad school is stressful, and that I'm not the only one who has experienced (or is experiencing) this, but it's like I don't really believe it or something.

Does anyone else feel like this? I'm homesick, stressed, and just feel really out of my element. I feel like everything I do ends up being a misstep, like I'm blindly trying to figure out my way. Any advice or words of encouragement?

Sorry - that sounds really tough. It will probably get better. Adjusting to teaching is not easy. I taught part-time for the first time recently, and the first term was stressful. Having to adjust to grad school and a new home on top of teaching would have been even worse. I'll be starting grad school soon, but my program does not make its first year students teach. Possible encouragement: teaching turned out to be really fun. I'll actually miss it. But I wouldn't have guessed it based on my experiences the first few weeks.

{{gentle hug}}

I had a rough first semester of my MA and downright horrible first year of my PhD. Here I am back for more.