Masters v. PhD level courses

The Spring 2012 schedule has been posted at my school, so of course I have been busy planning my schedule for next semester :D I am a first-year Masters student in the humanities.

I know this is something that varies by school and by department, but what kinds of differences are there between Masters and PhD-level courses? I'll be taking one PhD-level course because the ONE professor who specializes in what I am studying will be teaching it. However, for my other classes I have a few choices and am wondering if I should tackle these higher-level courses or avoid them altogether in an effort to "ease into" grad school.

I guess I am just looking for differences in workload, expectations, etc. Things like that. Thank you!

IME, students pursuing a M.A. were thrown into the same classes as those trying to earn a Ph.D. The students who were pursuing a master's did not always throw themselves into their work. Sometimes, it showed.

At my school, MA-level (500 level) classes are usually open to advanced undergrads along with grad students. IME, as long as there are more grads than undergrads, the classes are fine. If there are more undergrads than grads, it's usually less productive/interesting. Nothing against undergrads... but you should check to see how cross-listed courses are handled at your school.

At my school, MA-level (500 level) classes are usually open to advanced undergrads along with grad students. IME, as long as there are more grads than undergrads, the classes are fine. If there are more undergrads than grads, it's usually less productive/interesting. Nothing against undergrads... but you should check to see how cross-listed courses are handled at your school.