Religion and Grad School

WornOutGrad

For me, Religion is a very important part of my life, one that I have allowed to slip by the wayside over the past year in Grad School. I'm starting to realize that, for me, my faith is too important to put aside, even for the time-consuming, soul-crushing nature of Grad School. I'm curious if anyone else on here see religion as important, and how they balance faith with school.

Faith is important for me too, but I have to say -- I don't think Grad School is unique in its tendency to monopolize our time and take our focus off of God. Perhaps Grad School does this in a way other things don't; I wouldn't know exactly. I am not in grad school. But I am a busy professional (work full time, and own my own business), and between my personal and professional responsibilities, it is a significant challenge to continue making Religion a part of my life. I've found it is very easy to make excuses about time and exhaustion.

When you really think about it, many church/temple services are only one or two hours, don't require much prep at all. Morning prayer and daily meditation doesn't take much time either. There are number of ways to worship and stay engaged through the the day. There are small groups, forums, devotionals, and sometimes (depending on your faith) religious leaders are available to talk to. Most campuses have various ministries present, and often have a college chaplain. The hardest part is finding a church home, or feeling safe and secure in a new situation.

I imagine that since your life changes so much with grad school (new place, will be leaving soon), that it's not easy to fit in. Maybe you could go straight to a local pastor, or contact someone back home who can connect you with someone in the area? Or perhaps a friend of yours is willing to talk with you about faith on the phone from time to time.