What kind of job can I get with an MA in English...?

I have an MA in English and I have a "professional" job. I work at a large corporate bank in the loan modification division as a coach. You can definitely get jobs. Make sure to enhance your research, critical thinking, and writing abilities. I truly believe my MA helped with my promotion to the position I have now because the hiring manager was impressed with my writing abilities. He thought it would be great for me to write the training material. There were 75 applicants for 2 available positions, and I got one of those. So, YES, I think the MA is valuable.

I graduated with my MA two years ago, and I teach and I'm a writing tutor trainer. I teach at a university now, but I also taught at a community college last year. A couple of my friends who graduated with me work at non profit organizations doing various positions.

lolo, that sounds like something i'd be interested in doing. you mean enhance these assets on your resume, right?

timshel, you can teach at a uni with only an MA?

Yes, as a lecturer. Basically, you can teach the lower level courses. You can teach the basic studies classes like the required composition courses, introduction to literature courses, things like that.

I have a MA in English and am the secretary to a department on my campus. Department secretarial jobs typically require a high school diploma or BA/S, so applying with an MA is a plus not only for credential-based interview opportunities but also because you get to offer higher levels of service, like manuscript prep and finding articles for your faculty. The best part, however, is that you stay in the academic world, where you have unfettered access to faculty. Also, as a department secretary, you could (as is the case with my institution) earn more than a Ph.D. in hand or ABD lecturer teaching 4 courses.

Now, I am going to curse myself so that people think I'm some capitalist goon.