Is a UK masters degree valid in the US?

I'm sure this has been asked ad nauseum but I'm desperate!

I have a BA in psychology from an American university (I'm American). I want to get my masters at a UK institution, most likely applying to schools in Scotland (St Andrews, Edinburgh, etc). The degree would probably be in something like counseling, or general psychology.

If i plan to return to the US, will this hurt me in terms of job prospects? I have no idea what my long term career goals are, but I may down the line apply to clinical psychology PhD programs in the US. If I have a masters from the UK, will it kill my chances of being accepted into PhD programs?

I know to practice psychology you need to be certified specifically in the US but that'll be way in the future. I'm more worried about getting into PhD programs or getting other jobs related to counseling - I know in the US there are certain jobs open to people with masters in psychology/counseling, but if I have a UK masters in these subjects, is that like a death sentence for my career?

Has anybody else been in this position?

Hey there,

I've been looking into am MPP program at Edinburgh University. I'm also a USA student and I got my BA from American University!

I'm in the same boat as you, trying to navigate and figure out if going to a UK institution will hurt job prospects or if individuals/ institutions will look at my degree in a different way.

After talking to other USA students getting their degrees in the UK, my current manger, my former manager, and alumni of different ages from the University Edinburgh who have gotten their masters (MSc), my parents, here is what I have found.