April Waitlist Support Group

sweetnighter

I'm hanging in there, barely! Thanks for starting this post. I don't think I've ever known such stress before, and I worked in sales, marketing and HR at mutli-nationals!

Keep the faith everybody!

I'm doing okay, I guess. I have been waitlisted by my top choice, and that is a little disappointing. I interviewed with them, and things sounded really promising. I hope April 15th comes quickly.

My application deadlines were in February, March and April.... and I still haven't heard anything from anywhere. :( I'm assuming the April 15th rule doesn't apply to the majority of the schools I applied to. I may not hear anything until June and July!

I read somewhere that it's common for waitlisted applicants to hear in May and June. sometimes admitted students decide not to enroll last minute. I sure hope it doesn't come down to this though. too cruel.

Ugh. I'm waitlisted at my top choice. My POI called me and said that, post interviews, there were 3 lists: accepted based on funding, rejected, and waitlisted. People on the accepted list have automatic lines into certain labs...I'm (I think) the alternate for the line to his lab. But there's another Prof. interested in me with whom I recently phone interviewed. I think this means I could potentially be put on the accepted list with a direct line to the new POI's lab. Fingers crossed

June notification is too late for international applicants who are professionals.

The applicant would have to settle their current job arrangements, housing, family, tax matters.. a ton of issues to settle at home before making the move.

Not to mention the tons of the same matters in the country where they are attending school with. This means a little over two months to settle things, it will be a challenge even for those who are logistically inclined.

International graduate students would really appreciate early notification, even if it means a rejection.