What u guys do with "undecipherable" writing?

Chukwu Chucks

I was an undergrad TA before....sometimes I encountered a homework written in "non-english" writing (English but look more like wingdings letter).

The first week of work, I was trying to be as professional as possible, spending almost 1/2 hour for a single work of that kind....but as the semester progress (more works + homework for myself), I usually cross the entire problem and left a big side note....asking them politely to fix their writing next time (or sometimes sarcasm if it's the same guy over and over again)

what u guys usually do?

I would do the same as you. I have no patience for completely unreadable writing. If it was a bit messy I would try my best, but if I had to spend a significant amount of extra time on it in comparison to the other assignments I would not mark it. I would probably ask my prof what I should do about it as well.

I told a student to type his homework or I wouldn't grade it. It worked for a while, and by the end of the semester when he started hand writing it again, I really didn't care anymore.

When I start a new class, I always let the students know that I have to understand what they are writing in order to grade it. I explain that it has to be legible but if they are solving equations or something, there has to be a logical flow. A bunch of symbols and numbers scratched onto a page isn't helpful.

When it is the case, I explain that I am not just grading for the right answer, but I expect students to show understanding of the concepts/problems as well. If I can't read it, I won't mark it. Sometimes it helps to explain that I am only assigned a limited number of hours to mark their assignments -- most of them either are working or have had jobs at some point and will understand that it's no fun to have your time wasted!