freak out moments

mylstisr

today after talking with an advisor at one of the schools i am currently waiting to hear from i totally had a freak out moment.

i came home with the certainty that i was going to be rejected based on the things the advisor said and her expressions and what not, and literally cried for about 40 minutes.

what has been your biggest freak out moment so far during this whole process?

I had a meeting with a potential advisor like that before I even sent my application - I decided to apply anyway because it's a great program, but referred to the meeting as "the disaster" and assumed I'd get rejected. And I got in, with a nice email from that very professor to let me know! So don't lose hope, we can be way too critical of ourselves sometimes.

When I discovered Grad Cafe, read the posts, and realized how badly I screwed up my application.

Or how abysmal my GRE scores were in comparison to EVERYONE else :D

Or what a NICHE I'm studying LoL...and how hard it is to fund a niche!! hehe

My biggest freakout though probably came when I started getting rejections and for two seconds thought that they were ALL going to be that way.

Sigh.

I'm still down for joining ye olde traveling circus if it doesn't work out. :wink:

Mailing my applications was like birthing a child. I was so weak in the legs that the Demon Postal Lady was concerned when she took my application packages from me. She was so super sweet - and really she's an evil-evil creature who has always been slightly stand offish until I came in there like a wounded animal. I must have looked too rough and tumble to even eat...