PhD in Public Health

erzsi83

Anyone out there applying to public health PhD programs? I'm applying to mostly Health Policy & Management programs, with a few global health and public policy thrown in the mix. Would love to hear about others' experiences with the process as we're nearly the application deadlines! Cheers!

• 2 weeks later...

Hi! I am applying to PhD programs in Health Economics and Health Services Research. I am Spanish and I have a Bachelor's Degree in Pharmacy and now I am completing my Master's Degree in Pharmacoeconomics and Health Economics. I am specially interested in value-based insurance design. Which are your research interests? I am applying to Boston University, Washington University in St. Louis, Johns Hopkins and Harvard. What about you? I am applying also to UK universities, since I am not sure about the real possibilities of being admitted. I am pleased to find someone with the same interests. Good luck!

• 2 weeks later...

Hi! I'm also applying to PhD programs in mostly Health Policy and Management! Is it weird that I'm intimidated by the mere existence of other people who are (presumably) applying to the same programs I am?

@ihernandez.1 -- cool! my interests are mainly in improving access to care for women in low resource settings, but most of my research background is in health IT. i'm also really interested in health systems strengthening work.

@elsewhy -- yes, it's hugely intimidating. i'm actually applying to an absurd number of schools (10 - listed below), assuming that they are going to be incredibly competitive and I have no idea how my application will hold up. where are you applying?

@sepiasizemore -- how did it work out for you last year? any advice?

like i mentioned, i'm applying to a ton of programs. i just have no idea what to expect from the admissions process. here's my list:

university of washington - global health and health services (submitted)

unc - health policy/management