Have any of you received a negative recommendation?

agnesxleon

Hey all! 

I was wondering if any of you have experiences with receiving a negative recommendation. I have two professors I wish to ask, but I am hesitant because they were graphic design professors and the program I wish to apply isn't quite related to design. I studied graphic design as an undergrad and have been working as a designer since graduating, but I would really like to apply to a communication program to focus on the management aspects of being in a marketing firm. I graduated with a 3.8 GPA and did well in all their classes, but for some reason, I am feeling a bit hesitant about it. So, are professors kind of obligated to write a good recommendation for students??

I have only been told (by profs) that yes, they will write 'good' letters. Keep in mind though, you could certainly get lukewarm letters. The odds of getting a poor LOR are slim. But if a PROF doesn't feel comfortable writing a 'good' letter then they will find a way to let you know that they don't want to do it.

There is, of course, a difference between a 'good' letter and a 'great' letter.

Nevertheless, this is why *almost* everyone mentions in their profile that they have 'strong' letters.

From what I've heard of my peers, there has been only one truly negative letter story, and that was from a professor with a hidden agenda (long story..but a good, funny story.. well not for that student).

Most professors, if you ask them, are willing to write a good letter. As Uro says, there are varying levels of good. A simple "does well in class" is a good level, but it really does nothing to show the ad comms how good of an independent researcher you are. Professors who know you beyond class (say you asked them advice on graphic design issues outside of class, worked for them, assisted them in some way, or approached them with your own original concept) will by nature be able to write a better letter because they actually KNOW you.