You only hate grad school because you think you're supposed to.

In the midst of all of the very recent "I hate grad school; it's miserable and there are no jobs" articles, there's this one in Salon:

You Only Hate Grad School Because You Think You're Supposed To

What do you all think?  Personally, I disagree with his entire article and I've actually had a pretty overall positive experiences in grad school.  (I'm also a social psychologist.)  But I'll wait to give my explanation why.

Having just powered through a few hours of truly mind-numbing RA gruntwork, I feel qualified to cut through the article's bs and say, unequivocally and of my own volition, that there are many, many things to hate about grad. school.

Not having spent a single minute as an actual grad student (starting a PhD in September), I'd venture to say that like everything else in this world, the article has some correct points but also flaws.

I do believe that framing and mindset have a very important role in how you perceive something. If everything you read/hear and everybody you know goes on about how bad X is, then you are probably also going to dislike X, or at the very least, evaluate things with reference to it.

Also, the difference between a misfortune being "a setback to learn from" and "a miserable, experience-defining moment" is almost entirely attitude dependent. In this sense, I agree with the article.

However, at the same time I think it is insultingly simplistic to say that the "only reason" one hates grad school life is because that impression exists among other people. For one, not everybody "hates" grad school. Second, I'm sure there are actual, objective drawbacks to it, like all jobs in life. Here is a quote from the end of the article

"I assumed graduate school was supposed to be gratifying and therefore it largely became so. I was unaware that graduate school was supposed to be a dreary pool of loathing, and therefore it was not."