What makes you different? What sets you apart?

With everyone in the midst of application hell, lol, I thought it would be neat to see what, if anything, makes you unique? Experiences, background, employment, etc.

I have been a licensed massage therapist for over 10 years and I recently started back into the modality of craniosacral therapy. I started exploring and found some connections and cross over between CST & speech development issues. Not sure if it will help my application but it's fascinating!

I'm applying to Audiology and I wear a cochlear implant. What really makes me different is that this is actually my fourth implant! I had meningitis when I was 2 1/2 and my (implanted) right ear just did not work for me. My device failed three times and finally, my left side was implanted. It has been almost ten years after my last implant with no problems. I really feel that my experiences has given me a greater understanding of the benefits and also limitations of cochlear implants.

Good luck to everyone else applying this year!

• 2 months later...

I'm applying to Audiology and I wear a cochlear implant. What really makes me different is that this is actually my fourth implant! I had meningitis when I was 2 1/2 and my (implanted) right ear just did not work for me. My device failed three times and finally, my left side was implanted. It has been almost ten years after my last implant with no problems. I really feel that my experiences has given me a greater understanding of the benefits and also limitations of cochlear implants.

Good luck to everyone else applying this year!