International Development Applicants 2014/15 for SOAS, IHEID, LSE or Sciences Po?

k_angie

Hey!

Okay so here goes my first post!

I am applying to Masters in Development Studies at four institutes; SOAS, LSE, IHEID and Sciences Po. I graduated this June with first disticntion in History Hons from Lady Shri Ram College, New Delhi. I have done 3 internships, though not directly related to the field of development but along the lines of women empowerment, child rights as well as human rights and stuff.

Last year, I got a rejection from IHEID for the same course but given that its my dream school, i am applying again.

I am almost done with everything but stuck on my statement of purpose which is sucking the life out of me. Anyway, anyone else suffering from this block?

or applying to these schools?  Would love to discuss anything to everything or whatever lies in the middle or just share anxities together!

Angel :)

Edited by k_angie

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Angel!

I am applying to all 4 schools as well in International Development! Nice to see someone else in the same boat. I've been anxiously reading the forum looking for students in a similar situation.

Let's keep in touch on this thread and compare experiences. Unlike you I graduated a while ago from UCLA in 2007 and I've been working ever since but in a field unrelated to Development I'm trying to change direction and I think that's my weakness. I have volunteered for about a year for a micro lending non profit alongside my full time job and I hope that will help show my interest in the field.

I have already submitted my application for Sciences Po and IHEID. I am now working on my statements for SOAS and UCL but like you IHEID is my top choice. Can you tell me why you think you were rejected from IHEID the first time around? Was it the only school you applied to? Any insight can be helpful to relieve the stress!

Hey Alchyna,