Leave of Absence/Dropping Out

annegirl

Hi everyone, i'm an international MA in a one year program in Canada. I'm studying history. I'm a research assistant which I love. However that is the only thing I really like about grad school. I've suffered from some form of depression for the past ten years. I tried taking half of the lowest dose of Lexapro for a week before getting painful breakouts on my skin which makes me very reluctant to try other medications. Merely thinking about saying something in class makes me anxious. I tried to figure out a way last semester to set up appointments with counselors but between classes, trying to eat enough, my RA, and the mountain of projects I had. Basically it feels like I would have to either fall behind again on my work or tell either my RA supervisor/professors that I won't be coming to classes. 

Because of how depressed I was last semester my grades are really low. I haven't talked to my professors because of how ashamed I am. The only reason I didn't try to drop out last semester is because we had several group projects and I didn't want to leave anyone hanging.

It doesn't help that most of my classmates are very Type A sort of people and excel at group work activities.

To make matters worse, I'm supposed to be looking for an internship (which is mandatory to graduate) this summer but that rules out any internship looking for a transcript because my transcripts don't show my GPA (don't ask) and my school's grading system is very strange. 

Plus I can't even think of asking any of my professors for a reference because of how badly I did last semester. 

Right now I just feel really low. Not suicidal but on the verge of not going to classes at all this week because I can't deal with it. 

If my program was more than a year I would feel better about asking for a leave of absence or dropping out.