Is It Appropriate to Ask for Assistance with Moving Expenses?

NorthernLights

Hey guys,

I applied to seven programs this year and so far I've gotten in to two of them, been rejected by two, and have not heard from three, which means likely either waitlisting or rejection. But since both of the programs I got into were great matches for me, that's okay with me.

One of the programs I got into offered me a full ride for five years (Stipend, Tuition Remission, etc.), but is on the other side of the country. I'm a very poor undergraduate who is basically living on two and a half thousand dollars to last me until August. I'm looking for a job, but on-campus jobs don't want to hire students in their last semester (which seems backwards to me), and I don't have the transportation to get a job off campus. So this is what I'm wondering: is it appropriate to ask a school that has accepted me (irregardless of the financial package they offered) whether or not they can assist with my relocation expenses? If so, does anyone know what that would even look like?

Some schools give you a relocation, one of the schools that I was accepted offered a 500 relocation fee for out of state residents.  However, i would think it would be very difficult to ask and receive for one when a school already does not provide it.  You might have to try to figure out a very cheap way to get there or possibly (and I know this isn't ideal) do a short term loan until your first stipends come in...sorry to hear its not easy.  Maybe you can talk to the department and see when you can receive your stipend upon enrollment and see if there is a way to get one earlier or before you arrive?  Hope for the best for you.