How does an international student deal with the GTA?

buzer_beater

Hello Everyone,

I'm a Chinese senior student, and I'm offered a GTA for my Ph.D. program in the U.S. But I have some worries about losing this opportunity, because I'm not sure whether I can speak normally in front of so many foreign students especially in non-mother tongue. I'm also worry about I can't deliver the knowledge to students clearly and interestingly, then I will be get out of the GTA list.

So, could you give me some advice about how should I prepare for the upcoming GTA? or can you give me some successful example of foregin Teaching Assistant?

Thank you very much!

Dongyu

At our university, all international TAs must take an EFL test. If you meet the basic standards of English proficiency - then you're allowed to teach. If you don't meet the English language requirements you will keep the TAship but instead do grading in your first semester rather than teaching, and take an English language class through the university to get up to the necessary standard. Then after the first semester you are assessed again. Something similar might happen at your school. 

There will probably be a lot of Chinese and International TA/grad students in the same position as you when you arrive. It is a steep learning curve for the people I've seen - but none of them have ever been disciplined for their language skills.

Most grad schools don't expect their TAs to be brilliant teachers from the day they arrive: as long as you can deliver the material, turn up on time and follow the rules laid out for you, then you'll be fine. Don't worry about being "interesting" or having a native-level fluency - those things come later. 

The best way to prepare for speaking English in front of others...is by speaking lots of English. Look for conversation groups, language exchange partners or tutors in China before you start your program.