MFA New Media/Interactive/Electronic Writing/Digital Arts

Hi everyone,

I'm a recent grad from a top Ivy League School where I majored in English and was part of a selective Creative Writing program with a focus in Fiction. I wrote my senior English thesis on a topic in Digital Literature and also completed a special project in this area, which got me to thinking.

I'm considering applying to programs in New Media, Electronic Writing, Digital Arts, Interactive Media, etc.

Does anyone have advice as to pursuing the MFA in any of these fields? I'm particularly interested in USC's Ph.D because it's so interdisciplinary. I'd love to be in California, especially after doing my undergrad on the East Coast.

Schools/Programs I'm looking at:

Brown -- Electronic Writing

MIT -- Media Lab (High-Low Tech, Lifelong Kindergarten, Changing Places)

University of Southern California -- Interactive Media & Interdisciplinary Media Arts & Practice Ph.D

University of California

• 3 weeks later...
  • 3 months later...

I hope this response isn't too late to be useful (not that I'm guaranteeing that it'll be useful at all!).

Depending on the school, it might not matter if your undergrad degree is in a different field. It sounds like our interests are pretty similar. I majored in English as well, and I'm applying to new media-related programs this year. It looks like there are people with various backgrounds in UCSC's DANM program, and they no longer have a programming requirement. I'm also applying to SF State's Industrial Arts MA, with a concentration in Visual Communication/New Media, and they will accept students with unrelated degrees conditionally. Once you complete a semester of design courses and pass a portfolio review, you're advanced to candidacy status.