Wait a Year?

aw2015

Hi Everybody,

I've been lurking around these forums for a while now, but haven't posted before.  I'm stuck trying to make a decision about grad school that will no doubt affect the rest of my life, and could use some alternative perspectives. 

I've applied for Fall 2015 acceptance into a PhD program in Neuroscience at a variety (8) of schools, but have been rejected from four out of five of my top choices (Wisconsin, Michigan, Iowa, Colorado).  I have however been accepted at two of my less-desirable schools, both with full funding for the entirety of my studies (with my choice of RA or TA), along with benefits.  I would certainly be happy working with the mentor at one of the schools in particular, but am uncertain whether I will end up regretting the decision if I attend there (especially since it is in the same city, but is not the same school as, where I got my undergrad degrees).

Since applying this past year, I have accomplished a number of things which might be attractive to potential schools/advisors, which brings me to my dilemma: do I wait it out for another year and reapply, or go for it with the fall-back school?  Since application season, I have completed a number of relevant (and often necessary) courses, such as Biochemistry, Organic Chemistry, Molecular Biology of the Cell, laboratories in Advanced Neuroscience and Optogenetics, and Physics, and earned an A in every one.  I also changed my degree upon graduation from a double-major BA in Psychology and Neuroscience to two separate degrees (BA in Psych and BS in Neuro). On top of that, I recently received a Student of the Year award for the Psychology department, and will be publishing a short molecular biology paper as first or second author within the year.