'Soft' and 'Hard' Sciences, always adversaries?

Sword_Saint

I wanted to start a thread and pose a couple questions to you guys, folks in the soft sciences, hard sciences and humanities. I'm a recently accepted graduate student in the social sciences and over the last year or so I've gotten into more debates about the legitimacy of the social sciences. The debates tend to start when I'm having a conversation and I indicate I have found something to be true (e.g.: I found that crime at a park was not randomly distributed in space, but concentrated at a problematic area), or when someone explains that they value the natural sciences more so than the social sciences. I can accept that not everyone is going to have a passion for the things I have a passion for, but it is at times infuriating to hear a fellow college student make supremely ignorant remarks about whether the hard sciences are more useful than the soft or something of that nature.

My intention about starting this thread isn't to start some sort of academic civil war, but to ask a few questions for people who have more experience than I do as current, or aspiring, researchers or scientists; regardless of whether your science is more akin to chemistry and biology or psychology and sociology.

Is the argument between natural and social scientists of little consequence in the work place? Is this a discussion I should expect to have throughout the course of my studies and after? 

What are your guys' experience with the subject of discipline rivalry or citizen skepticism of the usefulness of academics?

Thank you for any feedback you guys have, I just want to get some idea of if this is an isolated incident or something I should anticipate for many years to come.

Edited by Sword_Saint