Choosing a Major

James Shaw

Sorry if this has been asked before, I was unable to find anything when I did a search. 

How did everyone choose their major for grad school?

Now I know this may sound like a kind of "duh" question, but I am seriously lost and have been all throughout my college career. I graduated with my BA in Sociology with a minor in Political Science back in December 2014. I don't really think a masters in Sociology is for me because it seems near pointless to me to do that to myself. However I am a bit lost as to what I want to do (which isn't anything new as I switched my major many times during undergrad - english, theater, human services, social work, journalism, education, outdoor education....changed my minor a few times too (education, psychology...)) 

I am kind of drawn right now to the idea of counseling and am thinking about looking into both Addictions Counseling and School Counseling programs. That's kind of the direction I have been going in since high school (school counseling mainly) but I am also interested in looking into Social Media/Marketing programs and Environmental Science/Law programs because both interest me, especially the latter of the two because I am a major advocate against climate change (at least in my own mind). 

So here's my dilemma and I'm interested to hear your answers and any advice you may have for me. I really miss school and would love to be able to start applying to programs as soon as I could. Thank you! 

Hello,