Gender Studies- fall 2016

Anyone applying to schools in Canada for gender studies? I want to apply for PhD but the sense I am getting is that schools like UBC, York, SFU require prior studies in gender/ women's studies/ feminist theory. I have a masters in Social work and experience of working with women and children. Am I eligible for a phd in gender?

• 1 month later...
  • 2 weeks later...

I applied to two gender departments in the States. I've received an email about a week ago from Emory notifying me that I've made the first cut. I am not really sure what that was about since it didn't say much about anything, but it was super surprising considering it was just a week after their submission deadline.

I am curious about other people applying to gender departments tho'...seems like we are either very few or just extremely reticent :D

Congrats DemonX!  That seems like a REALLY quick turn around.  When did you submit your application?  I don't think they have rolling admissions...so they must have already done some preliminary review of ~80 applications?! Well, at least they're not dragging their feet!

I applied to two gender studies programs in the states, and one in Canada. 

I'm hoping the lack of response on this forum is a sign of there being so few applicants this year. Wishful thinking? :-)

I think I submitted it mid November, but they sure seem to be fast. The reason, I suppose, is that their recruiting weekend takes place between Feb 4th-7th and the email was like a heads-up for the applicants. I guess Emory's RW invitations will be sent out pretty soon

• 2 weeks later...
On 1/12/2016 at 8:59 PM, HeidiBobine said:

If past years are any indication, you should be hearing from Emory this week RE your invitation to recruitment weekend! That's exciting. 

in this case it ain't looking good for me :P shame

There aren't any posts on the admissions results page about RW invites to Emory yet, so there may still be hope!