GPA and Admission to Grad School

franc109

Hi. I am applying to graduate school and am worried about my 3.0 GPA. Do I have a chance at acceptance into an MA program? I have a pretty solid research background with two years as an RA and am currently working on an independent research project. Do graduate schools look at other areas of an application before making a decision? Please help!

17 hours ago, xEB0511 said:

I don't think you need to worry for a masters program. Most people get their masters to boost their undergraduate GPA or if they majored in something other than Psychology, etc. People can get into most masters programs with GPAs less than a 3.0. 

I agree with the above. 

I'm applying to lots of MA programs with less than a 3.0, but I have alot of research and volunteer experience, as well as work experience( I'm currently a mobile technician for Apple). If you don't give up and stay confident, you'll get in. Have faith in yourself!

• 2 months later...

I have a 3.55 GPA with great recs, 2 years research, conference presentation and 2 teaching assistantships.  Do you think I should try for straight low level PhD programs in psych or go for the masters?

7 minutes ago, Guitarman12 said:

I have a 3.55 GPA with great recs, 2 years research, conference presentation and 2 teaching assistantships.  Do you think I should try for straight low level PhD programs in psych or go for the masters?

Depends! Have you taken the GRE yet? Do you only have 1 conference presentation? I have a 3.3 GPA (and took an online grad certificate course with a 4.0), and I got into a PhD program on the second try. 3.55 isn't terrible at all, but it's a competitive field. Research fit is one of the most important things you can have, and you'll have to show that in your statements of purpose. 

306 GRE 4.5 Writing on my first try.  I know I can get that up though because I did that with no preparation.  Yeah, I have 1 conference (2 at end of this semester and 1 pub by end).