What Convinced You to Pursue Your Ph.D

Threeboysmom

Okay,

I'm a non-traditional student that decided to complete my masters after a 13 year hiatus.  Now that I'm in the program, I'm loving it. I love learning and the content keeps me coming back for more.  After this semester I have three semesters left and then my masters is done.  I'm seriously considering my Ph.D but I'm would like to hear from others to hear how they knew they weren't done at the Masters level.  There's a lot to consider when you have a family and other obligations so taking on a Ph.D at this time would be a huge sacrifice for my family but I think I would be happy in the end.  

A 13 year hiatus is nothing - I took 26 years off before finishing my BA, and then went straight to the masters program.

I am in the same position as you, with 3 semesters left in the masters program, and also been considering doing the PhD. It would probably be a huge effort for me, as I am sole support for the rest of my family, which include a disabled spouse and a special needs child, along with a daughter who is also in grad school (and intending on going for a PhD also after finishing the master's) and her twin brother who is still living with us.

Going for the PhD would mean another ?? years of school. Financially this is not an issue for me, as I would only go if I were able to work full time and still get tuition remission (I am a full time employee of the university where I would go), but the time commitment is troubling. I do have a work colleague that is doing the full time employment and part time PhD student thing, so it is possible, but her family situation and home location with respect to the school are very different from mine.

How would you handle the additional responsibilities?