PhD Political Science --Mathematics and Statistics?

jule

Hello, 

I am an undergraduate looking to apply for political science or political economy phd programs this coming fall. I am a political science and economics double major, but have not taken many stat/math classes. There are online calculus classes available this summer, and I was wondering if taking such courses is significantly important in showing your quantitative research abilities and skill assets in the admissions process. 

As of now, I am working on my senior honors thesis in the econ department and studying for the GREs.

As the deadline for enrolling in the online classes is very soon, I'd appreciate any advice!

If you ask me, in terms of signaling your ability to do high-level math, improving your GRE math score would be a better indicator than taking a Calculus course. However, the question is how can you do high-level math without knowing calculus? So I would recommend studying for GRE in this summer and taking the Calculus course in your gap summer before beginning your Phd studies. 

7 hours ago, jule said:

Hello, 

I am an undergraduate looking to apply for political science or political economy phd programs this coming fall. I am a political science and economics double major, but have not taken many stat/math classes. There are online calculus classes available this summer, and I was wondering if taking such courses is significantly important in showing your quantitative research abilities and skill assets in the admissions process. 

As of now, I am working on my senior honors thesis in the econ department and studying for the GREs.

As the deadline for enrolling in the online classes is very soon, I'd appreciate any advice!