Teach For America vs Starting a M.A.

mollycm

Question

I am an education student set to graduate in Spring 2017 and quickly approaching application season. I am interested in graduate programs in Educational Psychology, Learning Sciences or Curriculum & Instruction. I plan on earning a Ph.D. in the long run and working in academia. Although I have a good idea of what I am interested in, my interests are too wide right now and I think I could use some time to focus my research goals before applying to Ph.D. programs. Right now I am weighing the benefits of doing Teach for America or earning a preliminary Master's degree. Both are about a two-year commitment. The former would give me more field experience and make a lot of connections but I might lose ties with potential letter-writers and wouldn't be getting any research experience. The latter would give me more research experience with little field experience and I will accumulate significantly more debt because M.A. students don't get funding like Ph.D.s do. If any of you are in education, it would be great to hear your input. 

7 answers to this question

For the PhD programs you've listed, I think it will be immensely helpful for you to have teaching experience. Therefore, I recommend TFA. It's certainly not required, but I think it will help you focus your interests, and be more familiar with the field you're studying. I honestly can't imagine studying education without at least some experience teaching. LORs are an important consideration, and I can see what you mean, but I was still able to find an undergrad professor willing to recommend me even after 5 years of teaching. TFA will also provide multiple contacts that could potentially write LORs. A combination of academic and professional LORs is very much acceptable.