Getting into the SLP Grad program.. HELP!

Hey guys, so I am extremely concerned about applying to graduate school for speech and hearing. I just graduate this spring (2016), and I had applied to 3 schools but got denied from them all. I applied to Hofstra, Mercy college, and Columbia. I honestly did it to see if I had any luck, but it backfired. My GPA is not that great, I have an overall GPA of 3.16 and my GPA for speech major is a 3.0. NOT GOOD AT ALL. I am studying to retake my GRE's so I am hoping for higher grades. 

If anybody can help out and give me some recommendations, schools where I can apply, and/or things to change in order to get accepted that would be great! Also I live in New York city, so I am looking into graduate schools on the East Coast. The closer to New York the better. 

Hi, I haven't been accepted anywhere either (second time applicant woo). I feel your pain; my stats aren't much better.

One major thing you should work on, if you can, is increasing your speech GPA. It's NOT a good sign to grad committees if your major GPA in-field is lower than your overall GPA by any amount at all. Is there any way you can retake classes or take additional courses in-field? What's your non-academic stats like? Have you done any volunteering/etc? If you cannot fix the GPA in any way at all, I think you really need to at least address it in your SOP. Even if it's only a sentence or two. But I'll leave advice on that to people who've actually been accepted to programs. Best of luck to you!

Did you graduate with a speech and hearing/communication disorders undergrad degree? If so, maybe you could take some courses at your school/at an online school/at a nearby school and get an A in each of them to show you can handle grad level work. If you can't improve your speech GPA somehow, you won't get in anywhere. That's kind of just how it is. Low GPA in courses out of field is one thing, but if your speech courses are all Bs and lower, it's not happening.